Skip To Main Content

Calling all families of incoming kindergarteners! Kindergarten Kickoff is 5-6 p.m. on Thu. March 7 at all elementaries! More info.

Pleasant Lea Middle School Students Earn Pathway to Biliteracy Awards

More than 250 Lee's Summit students in Kindergarten, 3rd, 6th and 8th grade ended the 2021-2022 school year earning the Missouri Seal of Biliteracy Pathway Award. The award recognizes 251 elementary and middle school students who have learned or maintained a second language other than English.

The students had to demonstrate that their knowledge of the second language meets district and state standards.

The students, who represent 17 LSR7 schools, achieved these awards learning the following 14 languages: American Sign Language, Arabic, Dutch, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Lithuanian, Mandarin Chinese, Russian, Spanish, Urdu and Vietnamese.

Pleasant Lea Middle School Awardees:

French:  Raina Cadena, Lydia Close, Bee Dinkins, Kristen Johnson, Mylee Parish, Keria Rausch, Ben Smith, and Kathryn Woods

German:  Umer Ahmed, Jayden Bohling, Cristian Brizuela, Oscar Carpenter, Echo Clifton Scherer, Lily Draper, Emry Makayla, Zak Fielder. Mason Gibbs, Tre Mitchell III, Maren Moss, Grace Nichols, Lily Patterson, Jill Siemens, Sammie Stabno, Owen Thomas, Hunter West, and Kacey Worthy

Mandarin Chinese: Andrew Kahler

Spanish: Amani Abatiyow, Ivonne Alvarado, Braden Askeland, Henry Clark, Olivia Clifton, Grace Collier, Maci Davis, Dom Derevianka, Emma Derham, Kennedy Donahoe, Amber Dumler, Teagan Easton, Lauren Felker, Taylor Fite, Jasmine Garciga, Lexi Gassmann, Kylie Goodale, Ella Guenther, Laila Hack, Kenley Halferty, Charley Hall, Gia Harmon, Bri Houle, Kaiya Iboaya, Lila James, Bella Johnson, Paul Kim, Gracelyn Lampson, Dayton Masters, Katelyn Moor, Emma Mosakowski, Luke Nally, Lucy Nault, Joslyn O’Connor, Kate Odell, McKenna Parker, Austin Reed, Alexis Rosales, Abby Sanning, Jacob Serres, Emily Silverman, Ava Smidt, Aidan Smith, Elijah Smith, Owen Smith, Rebecca Sobey, Lillix Sodders, Reese Stanley, Dominick Thompson, Addy Williams, Hannah Winburn, Kate Wood, and Ella Yue