Top Menu

Science

Courses Offered:

Integrated 7th and 8th grade Science
Ace integrated 7th and 8th grade Science
7th and 8th grade Class With In A Class (CWC) integrated Science

Contact Information:

Jessica Bobal

Email: jessica.bobal@leesummit.k12.mo.us
Voice Mail: 816-986-1499 ext. 7709

Ricky Boedeker

Email: ricky.boedeker@leesummit.k12.mo.us
Voice Mail: 816-986-1499 ext.

Chris Lake

Email: christine.lake@leesummit.k12.mo.us
Voice Mail: 816-986-1175 ext. 8294

Donetta Horky

Email: donetta.horky@leesummit.k12.mo.us
Voice Mail: 816-986-1175 ext. 7514

Jon Lassman

Email: jon.lassman@leesummit.k12.mo.us
Voice Mail: 816-986-1499 ext. 7052

Kristy Muckey, Lead Teacher

Email: kristy.muckey@leesummit.k12.mo.us
Voice Mail: 816-986-1499 ext. 8994

Ken Presley

Email: ken.presley@leesummit.k12.mo.us
Voice Mail: 816-986-1499 ext. 8343

Materials and primary resources used within the department

Lab materials, textbooks, Science Olympiad materials, journals, and technology.

Departmental goals

The student will be able to:
1. Use scientific methods and technological tools appropriately.
2. Make informed decisions as a citizen: demonstrate social, civic, family, and environmental responsibility.
3. Recognize the cause the effect relationships of scientific phenomena.
4. Evaluate the accuracy of scientific information and the reliability of its sources.
5. Interpret media information with enough understanding of the basic science involved that they can relate it in their lives.

Department philosophy

Our philosophy mirrors the R-7 District Vision by supporting the District Mission by tapping into the students curiosity through discovery learning and hands on activities.

Special projects and activities sponsored by the department to supplement instruction

Science Olympiad
Weather Station
Guest Speakers
Animal Lab and Animal Lover’s Club